AIA Dayton
28 Lowry Drive
West Milton, Ohio 45383
Phone: 937.291.1913

And the winners are...

AIA Dayton announced the winners of its 36th annual Art in Architecture Student Design Competition on March 19 at an Awards Reception at Heapy Engineering.  Students from seven Miami Valley school competed for $4,000 in scholarships and prizes.

This year’s program, The Stage at First Flight, was an outdoor performance venue at Dave Hall Plaza in Dayton.   Forty-eight students from seven area high schools participated in the program, with 31 students completing the program and turning in design boards.

Bryce Howell Paul Wittmann

Bryce Howell, a senior at Chaminade Julienne High School, was awarded the Top Design Award and a $1,500 scholarship from L2M Architecture in Moraine.  Paul Wittmann, a junior at Chaminade Julienne High School, won the Merit Award and a $1,000 Heapy Engineering college scholarship.

Ayshe Salamova  Jake Schauer  Nate Kaval 

Ayshe Salamova a senior at Ponitz Technology Career Center, was awarded the Sinclair Community College Pathways Scholarship for one semester of classes at Sinclair.  Two Honorable Mention Book Awards of $200 each, sponsored by Miller Valentine Construction and the City of Dayton Planning Department were earned by Jake Schauer, a junior at Oakwood High School and Nate Kaval, a sophomore at Oakwood High School.

Sara Bowman  Allison Baker  Tyler Kennedy 

An award for Future Architect went to Chaminade Julienne High School Senior, Sara Bowman; while Vandalia Butler High School junior Allison Baker received the Master Craftsman Award for the best presentation.  Rounding out the prizes and receiving the Most Creative Use of Materials, was Tyler Kennedy, Stebbins High School senior.

This competition was judged on creative design and artistic presentation by a panel of jurors including: Dianna Conboy, AIA; Ann Schenking, City of Dayton; Matthew Sauer, AIA, Matthew Sauer Architect; and Angela Stewart.

This year’s participation t-shirts were sponsored by Sherwin Williams and the design was provided by WD Partners.  The Design Review refreshments were sponsored by Synergy; and the Dayton Performing Arts Alliance and the Rose Music Center provided vouchers for future performances which were used as participation prizes.

Doug Grewe, AIA and Daniel Freytag, AIA and the AIA Dayton Emerging Professionals generously contributed to this year’s program as well.

[See photos of the 2017 Art in Architecture award winners]

[Download PDF of the 2017 Awards Ceremony Presentation (60MB)]


upcoming events