AIA Dayton
28 Lowry Drive
West Milton, Ohio 45383
Phone: 937.291.1913

The winners of the 35th annual Art in Architecture Student Design Competition were recognized April 10 at an Awards Reception at Heapy Engineering attended by approximately 60 students, parents, school advisors and AIA Dayton members.

The program, a downtown Urban Gallery and Loft (the adaptive reuse of the existing Oriel Building) was open to college-bound high school students interested in art, architecture, or design.   Fifty-five students from seven area high schools participated in the program.

The winners were Timmy Hutchins, a junior at Oakwood High School, who was awarded the Top Design Award and a $750 Heapy Engineering college scholarship.Nathan Hess, a senior at Oakwood High School, won the Merit Award and a $500 scholarship.  Reyhan Motlagh, a junior at Oakwood High School, was awarded the Sinclair Community College Pathways Scholarship for one semester of classes.

Two Honorable Mention Book Awards of $100 each, and the book “Becoming an Architect,” were awarded to Matt Stover, a junior an Oakwood High School and Austin Fuchs, a junior at Chaminade Julienne High School.

An award for the Most Creative Use of Materials went to Chaminade Julienne High School Junior, Sara Bowman; while Beavercreek High School senior Michael Rick received the Future Architect Award.  

Rounding out the prizes and receiving the Master Craftsman award for the best presentation, was Aaron Plas, an Upper Valley Career Center senior.  

Thanks to sponsors Heapy Engineering, Sinclair Community College, RTA and WD Partners for their generous contributions to the event.

upcoming events

connect with us

  • Facebook: AIA-Dayton
  • Picasa: aiadayton
  • Twitter: AIADayton