AIA Dayton
28 Lowry Drive
West Milton, Ohio 45383
Phone: 937.291.1913

The 2014 Awards Program will be held Wednesday, November 5 in the Gothic Cloister, Dayton Art Institute. You are cordially invited to participate in the awards program. Following is some important information about the submission of projects.

The Focus on Design Awards program will promote and focus attention on quality design, high performance design, and AIA’s 10 Principles of Livable Communities.

Entries may be in one of 6 categories:

  • Newly completed buildings, additions, remodelings, renovations, restorations
  • Interior projects
  • Urban design or planning projects/studies
  • Unbuilt projects
  • High performance design projects
  • AIA Dayton Twenty-Five Year Award


Read more: AIA Dayton Announces the Call for Entries for the 2014 Focus On Design Awards Program

Golfers were welcomed to hit a few balls on the Pella Sale’s sponsored driving range before feasting on a BBQ lunch picnic from Bellbrook’s Dot’s Market. KONE and AIA Dayton provided registration giveaways as golfers registered under the porch of the 1840 House, Sugar Valley Country Club’s temporary headquarters.  The four person "Best Ball" Scramble began at 1:00 as the foursomes drove to their perspective starting holes on their Brower Insurance sponsored golf carts. Once again the on-course watering holes were sponsored by Chapel Electric and Becker Construction.  Golfers enjoyed a frozen Snicker’s bar supplied by Element IV at Hole 1.

2014 Golf Scramble Winning Foursome
During dinner, golfers collected door prizes and enjoyed a Hemm's Glass sponsored steak dinner under a large white tent. Pella Sales and Thyssen Krupp gave away door prizes at the conclusion of dinner. Bill Williams introduced one of this year's AIA Dayton Scholarship recipients, Jared Schroeder, who was accompanied by his father for the entire golf outing. As a result of the numerous mulligan purchased during the outing, a $1,040.00 check will be presented to the AIA Dayton Scholarship Fund.

Read more: Golf Outing 2014 Recap

Jared Schroeder, a senior at Dominion Academy, Vandalia, was awarded the first place Honor Award and a $900 scholarship

On Thursday, April 10, the American Institute of Architects, Dayton Chapter (AIA Dayton) announced the winners of its annual “Art in Architecture Student Design Competition” where students were invited to compete for $1400 in scholarships and prizes.  This 2014 program was designed for college-bound high school students, grades 9 through 12, interested in art, architecture, or design in AIA Dayton’s nine-county area.

Over fifty students from 13 schools participated in the 31st annual Art in Architecture Student Design Program.  This year’s program, to design an Urban Outfitters Center, was inspired by the plans for the upcoming RiverScape River Run.  Partnering and providing sponsorship for the program was AIAS Student Chapter of Miami University, Heapy Engineering, Business Furniture, Consulting Services, Inc. and Messer Construction.

Read more: 2014 Student Design Winners

Patrick Hillier Selfie

AIA encouraged attendees to take “selfies” with the Congressional aides and post them on Twitter and Facebook.  Here Patrick Hillier takes a “selfie” with Kevin Eichinger, Representative Jim Jordan’s Senior Legislative Assistant.

  AIA National held its annual Grassroots Leadership and Legislative Conference from March 19 – 21 at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill, Washington, DC. Those in attendance from AIA Dayton were President Patrick Hillier, AIA; President-elect Dave Bills, AIA; AIA Ohio Associate Director Representative Rick White, AIA; and Jane Treiber, Executive Director. Click here to read more.

During the conference, the Dayton contingency met with Kevin Eichinger, Senior Legislative Assistant to Congressman Jim Jordan, and with Andrew Sigmon, Senior Policy Advisor to Congressman Michael Turner. In addition, Dave Bills met with Nicholas Butterfield of Senator Rob Portman’s office and Jennifer Waits, aide to Senator Sherrod Brown. This year’s Grassroots program coincided with a scheduled break for Congress.

Read more: Grassroots 2014 Recap

More Articles...

  1. President's Message by Patrick Hillier, AIA, President
  2. AIA Dayton Candidate Forum Successful
  3. 2013 Scholarship Recipients
  4. 2014 AIA Dayton Focus on Design Awards

Page 1 of 2

upcoming events

connect with us

  • Facebook: AIA-Dayton
  • Picasa: aiadayton
  • Twitter: AIADayton